Arrivederci New York! Bongiorno Italia!

It’s been a long while. Too long in fact. I’ve been noticing my blog’s button on my toolbar and have ever so not-very-sneakily been avoiding it. All because I know that the guilt of realizing you haven’t posted in forever is crushing. But sometimes you have to suck it up and deal. And post!

So here it is, the Friday before spring break, and in about half an hour or so a few of my friends and I will be loading the bus along with other art history students to head to the airport where we will fly to….VENICE! Spring Break studying art in Venice, does it get any better? Last year I went with the art history department to Florence and it was so amazing I already knew I wanted to go with them to Venice this year. And so, it has happened.

Me and friends in Rome last year

But part of the problem with such a lavish trip for Spring Break is that, even though I saved money for the trip, I seem to be lacking in funds in general. Don’t worry, I have enough to sample great Venetian food and shopping, but I have discovered the struggle of living on a budget because you’re forced to. Which is a great life lesson, and I’m actually surprised it has taken this long for me to learn it. What I have recently found to be the most difficult thing is this: I want to cook and bake delicious goods, but am unable to afford the ingredients for such goodies that I really want to do on a week to week basis! It makes me sad face. It’s time to learn how to make amazing foods on a budget, but how?

So to end this short post on a high note, OFF TO VENICE!!

And a question for all, what are you ways you continue to cook while staying on a budget?

Leave a Reply

